View Full Version : Suss demo 9 on all classifieds
Jaybies_Can_Crash
18-09-2008, 09:04 AM
Hi all, there is a 2005 demo9 on all classifieds (as below) for $1300 with 07 fox 40's, 08 codes, mavic 729's, sram x9 drivetrain, e.13, the works. Price seems waay too low. Just thought I'd put it out there. If it is legit and the seller reads this, my apologies and take it as a bump.
http://www.allclassifieds.com.au/ac/ac0034?gcid=122033612
cobba
18-09-2008, 12:07 PM
It's a scam, it's also listed in lots of other classifieds all around the world:
http://classifieds.chicagoreader.com/chicago/ViewAd?oid=oid%3A1531666
http://www.gumtree.com/london/78/27747678.html
http://www.bikemagic.com/classifieds/advert.asp?c=18198&t=Specialized+Specialized+Demo+9+DH&sp=&v=1
http://www.mtba.asn.au/classifieds/detail.asp?iType=13&iAd=4071
http://www.ridemonkey.com/classifieds/cat-2/ad-4082/
http://www.morcmtb.org/classifieds/showproduct.php?product=638
http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/view_sell.php?id=28778
http://www.bikeradar.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=14932221
http://www.dropmachine.com/buynsell/showproduct.php/product/1467/cat/2
http://www.whistlermountainbike.com/wmb/buysell/showproduct.php/product/104/cat/500
http://www.velovtt.com/annonces/detail.php?setlang=eng&id=595
http://www.tradepoint.ca/RegularItemDetails.aspx?itemId=93206
http://kleinanzeigen.liliput.ch/Familie_Baby_Kind/Kinder_Fahrrad_Velo_19698.aspx
http://www.pinwand.ch/Fahrrad_Velo_193515b.aspx
plus many more.
The scammer probably copied the photo and details from a legitimate ad and lowered the price to make it look like a bargain that can't be missed, posted it for sale worldwide and is now waiting for some fools to send money by Western Union for a bike that will never turn up.
dirt jumper 2
18-09-2008, 06:26 PM
Gee there are some gay people in this world:mad:, who would advertise false bikes ?
foxx-racing
19-09-2008, 06:39 AM
Gee there are some gay people in this world:mad:, who would advertise false bikes ?
The sad people who cant be fucked actually getting off their arse and getting a job so they would rather piss everybody else off in the world.
low :mad:
cobba
19-09-2008, 11:16 AM
Wow, look where the original description and photo of this bike came from:
http://forums.farkin.net/showthread.php?t=117735
cobba
19-09-2008, 12:30 PM
There's at least 1 victim of this scam:
http://www.dropmachine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=407169
and here's a thread on a Costa Rican MTB forum:
http://www.puromtb.com/default.aspx?tabid=422&view=topic&forumid=41&postid=103158
Nathan_
19-09-2008, 02:52 PM
nasty :(
If its too good to be true, then..........
DownhillerDeano
19-09-2008, 04:06 PM
wow, don't I feel special, my old girl. Thanks 'cobba' for alerting me
However hope know body does get sucked in.
How did any of you recognise the bike?
BTW: It was sold off in parts, frame went to QLD
DownhillerDeano
19-09-2008, 04:12 PM
Anyway, why mine? Would I have put a key word in that they search for or something? I'm actually quite taken back by all this when I look at it on several sites and quite frankly pisses me right off. As much as I would like to register on everyone of those websites to alert people, this may cause more of a shitstorm, how could I ever prove it was mine? Just better off staying out of this I think.
Obviously I wasn't the only one that thought it looked attractive!
Industry Nine
19-09-2008, 04:20 PM
The sad people who cant be fucked actually getting off their arse and getting a job so they would rather piss everybody else off in the world.
low :mad:
Exactly what he said, back you up 100%
cobba
19-09-2008, 04:57 PM
How did any of you recognise the bike?
While trolling through the various search results for Specialized Demo 9 DH (http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&q=Specialized+Demo+9+DH&btnG=Google+Search&meta=) on Google I found one that was 'Specialized Demo 9 DH. 'The toy' - FARKIN.NET Forums' (http://forums.farkin.net/showthread.php?t=117735) when I clicked on it and looked at the thread I noticed that it was the same bike photo and description that the scammer was advertising worldwide.
DownhillerDeano
19-09-2008, 04:59 PM
While trolling through the various search results for Specialized Demo 9 DH (http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&q=Specialized+Demo+9+DH&btnG=Google+Search&meta=) on Google I found one that was 'Specialized Demo 9 DH. 'The toy' - FARKIN.NET Forums' (http://forums.farkin.net/showthread.php?t=117735) when I clicked on it and looked at the thread I noticed that it was the same bike photo and description that the scammer was advertising worldwide.
oh ok then. feels very weird, perhaps, 'eeire', even though I don't have it now!
joshrides
19-09-2008, 07:39 PM
sorry for the inconveniance
wagon boy
19-09-2008, 09:30 PM
this sucks so bad why would you ever want to do this just some homo with no life GET A LIFE mabey he had a bad crash and has somthing against bikes lol,
and
i dunno good chance im wrong but funny thing that the guy that brings up this scam is the guy thats bike it is ? i dunno im probably wrong and after reading u seem like a nice bloke but just putting it out there
You are an incredibly stupid little fuckwad. Your location is stealing your bike, quick everyone, lets bash him and steal his stuff, he must be the scammer... stupid fucker. Just putting it out there...
DownhillerDeano
19-09-2008, 10:07 PM
and i dunno good chance im wrong but funny thing that the guy that brings up this scam is the guy thats bike it is ? i dunno im probably wrong and after reading u seem like a nice bloke but just putting it out there
Mate your a complete fuckwit. And I'm just putting that out there.
If you had of been reading my posts in this topic, or read the original for sale post, you would realise it was my old bike...'I' did not 'generate' this scam, nor did 'I' even realise about it until alerted by 'cobba'.
So pull your head in before u go shooting your mouth of with crap like that all over the internet.
It's just an unfortunate event that has happened and unfortunately, the scamer has got what he wanted; money.
cobba
20-09-2008, 01:38 AM
i dunno good chance im wrong but funny thing that the guy that brings up this scam is the guy thats bike it is ? i dunno im probably wrong and after reading u seem like a nice bloke but just putting it out there
WTF?
It's all very simple 'joshrides'
'Jaybies_Can_Crash' started this thread about a bike that looked suspicious.
I investigated this advertised bike and discovered that it was a scam.
I thought that people should know about this scam so I posted some info on it as a warning.
I discovered that this bike was previously owned by Farkin member 'DownhillerDeano' so I let him know about it as he'd probably be interested in what's going on.
The way these scammers work is that they copy information and photos of expensive items that are owned by other people then they post them for sale as their own on free to advertise classifieds worldwide, the said item is usually 'located overseas' and offered for a 'cheap price' with 'free shipping' and they'll only accept payment through Western Union or some other dodgy payment method that can't be traced or have any comebacks.
Some times they are advertised on hacked ebay accounts but free classifieds seem to be the most common place to find these scams now. Once the scammer gets the money they'll usually never be heard of again and the bought item will never turn up, but occasionally they'll try to milk more money out of the buyer by saying that the item is held up by customs and won't be released till some extra fees are paid.
I've seen quite a few of these scams previously, mostly these scammers seem to copy the info and photos from legitimate sales that are on ebay.
This is the first time I've seen a scammer copy info from Farkin, it could happen again and it might have even happened previously.
If an item for sale seems too good to be true then it probably is, a few corresponding emails to a seller will usually let you know if it's a scam or not.
This particular scam is the biggest one that I've seen so far, the more that I look the more places and countries I seem to find this bike listed.
joshrides
22-09-2008, 02:47 PM
ok sorry i had no idea
DownhillerDeano
22-09-2008, 08:15 PM
ok sorry i had no idea
Perhaps if you had of read all the replies in the topic before jumping to the last couple and having your 'suggestive input' you would have had half an idea.
joshrides
22-09-2008, 08:16 PM
ok i will keep that in mind
Nathan_
23-09-2008, 11:58 AM
Anyway, why mine? Would I have put a key word in that they search for or something? I'm actually quite taken back by all this when I look at it on several sites and quite frankly pisses me right off. As much as I would like to register on everyone of those websites to alert people, this may cause more of a shitstorm, how could I ever prove it was mine? Just better off staying out of this I think.
Obviously I wasn't the only one that thought it looked attractive!
IF, you had the time and wanted to do some good - you could join up and list the original post of the bike (^^ up a few posts) to show the date you posted it....
SillyWabbit
24-09-2008, 08:22 PM
Josh ur a fucktard:mad:
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.