PDA

View Full Version : Beware of trading with SOSO scammer


mrcurlyhead
06-11-2008, 01:29 PM
i have recieved a few emails asking about rims i have for sale they are the exact same message with the different rim names.

he has asked for my adress and number and other stuff i dont tihnk this is appropriate for me to be giving this information out.

patto_15
06-11-2008, 01:35 PM
If you don't feel comfortable sending out that sort of information, DONT!

The User SOSO, has no posts under his belt.. Send him an appropriate email, out lying that if he isn't a genuine buyer, please stop sending emails / pms..

Otherwise report him to admins..

Burgertron
06-11-2008, 01:43 PM
Just got one from him too...same deal....had already sold the rims so too bad for soso

mrcurlyhead
06-11-2008, 03:10 PM
i jut find it awkward?

that someone will ask for my number and adress when i would be needing his adress if anything to send to him!

dcrofty
06-11-2008, 03:18 PM
You also need to understand that he has to send you money and some people are going to want to know that info before they send you money so that they can be in touch if the deal goes bad.

Its not a completely unreasonable request but if you aren't happy with it just let him know politely.

louis2999
06-11-2008, 03:27 PM
his just a sent a message through to me bout my rim:

Hello

I am interested in buying the rear 26" Sun ZX-25 that you have placed for sell now, and I would want to enquire about the present condition of the above mentioned, as well as some detail about you. I expect this timely enough.

As for the payment, I would need you to get back in touch with the last asking price as I will be paying with a certified cheque.

Lastly, please forward to me your full company's (or house address, telephone and fax) details as I will subsequently prefer reaching you through these facilities.

Yours interestingly,

Raymond Griffiths


Should you need to reply to me, Please get back in touch with your
details to me at:texmy001@yahoo.com for a quick reply.



not sure, if his serious or not at the moment.

mrcurlyhead
06-11-2008, 03:29 PM
exactly what he said to me!

but with different rim name but why would he want my number and adress no one has asked me for this before?

maybe "it" is a "bot"

also why thhell would he want to no about me?

tld_06
06-11-2008, 03:29 PM
Hello

I am interested in buying the ombshell HED Rear wheel that you have placed for sell now, and I would want to enquire about the present condition of the above mentioned, as well as some detail about you. I expect this timely enough.

As for the payment, I would need you to get back in touch with the last asking price as I will be paying with a certified cheque.

Lastly, please forward to me your full company's (or house address, telephone and fax) details as I will subsequently prefer reaching you through these facilities.

Yours interestingly,

Raymond Griffiths


Should you need to reply to me, Please get back in touch with your
details to me at:(XXX)my001@yahoo.com for a quick reply.

Has sent me this on three occasions relating to three different wheels. Kinda annoying, but apparently nothing we can do. For all we know, it could be a kid that just wants a wheel and speaks in mono-tone.

tld_06
06-11-2008, 03:35 PM
Sounds good, my address is:

7337 Boozey Lane, Soso, Iraq, Post code 5527981.

Please reply with directions to the nearest post office to my house too.

Also, How many beers in a 6-pack?

Replied. *coughSPAMMERcough*

dcrofty
06-11-2008, 03:38 PM
OK that's dodge. No one on Farkin is that eloquent.

Seriously though its a scam, the certified cheque thing is the giveaway.

http://www.binary.co.uk/chequescam/

Tell him to fuck off.

Carlin
06-11-2008, 03:42 PM
And they have called them self 'So so'?

At least they have a sense of humor.

kona lover
06-11-2008, 03:46 PM
so is this guy genuine or not becoz he sent it to me and im keen to sell the wheel but if im getting scammed i wanna know!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dcrofty
06-11-2008, 03:49 PM
so is this guy genuine or not becoz he sent it to me and im keen to sell the wheel but if im getting scammed i wanna know!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Nah mate. Hes a scammer.

Genuine as a $15 note.

mrcurlyhead
06-11-2008, 03:49 PM
its a scam my friend.

they have only sighned up yesterday to so i wouldnt trust them

dcrofty
06-11-2008, 03:51 PM
its a scam my friend.

they have only sighned up yesterday to so i wouldnt trust them

Can you edit the thread title to say so? We should put the word out.

mrcurlyhead
06-11-2008, 03:59 PM
i dont see why not but what do i change it to?:p

simmooo!
06-11-2008, 04:36 PM
i dont see why not but what do i change it to?:p

Something like "Beware of trading with SOSO scammer" or something just letting people know to be careful.

Pebble
06-11-2008, 05:38 PM
Reads like a scam to me.

Yes buyers do have a right to ask your details, but he should primarily want your bank details & name not your address and phone number.
Also as tempting as a cheque could be, it's a certified cheque (whatever that means) not a bank cheque - the only thing I'd be accepting, or even better a money order, at least the cash is instant then.

With those cheque schemes generally your item or money is long gone before it's discovered as being a fraud. I imagine he would be sending you extra payment or something to that effect.

When I get stuff like that (especially on email) I don't even reply - as tempting it is to send them one even as a joke!

Most Farkiners ask about your item or offer a price first, then when they ask for payment details or whatever.
If you must reply then the easiest thing would be to say that you won't sell to someone out of Aus and will only accept a direct deposit or money order and see what he says then - probably a no go.

'Ross
06-11-2008, 08:19 PM
Yep its mad suss, no way I would be accepting a check either....if you want my stuff you can pay cash, bank deposit, or paypal. If you don't have access to either of these, frankly you should give up on buying stuff.

dh1
06-11-2008, 09:34 PM
yea he sent the exact same message as everyone else. he must be a scammer, he isnt even defending himself.

flyracing
06-11-2008, 10:05 PM
You should send him a parcel the shape and weight of a rim with a nice message inside.

FoxRidersCo
06-11-2008, 10:19 PM
I got one too.... YAY :rolleyes:

~James~
06-11-2008, 10:33 PM
Yeh, I sent him/her a very colourful reply to the PM haha.

Regan
07-11-2008, 06:41 AM
Got a message from him too...what a wanker! He wants to buy my rear hub....I'll send him a small box full of dog schnap

Grip
07-11-2008, 06:53 AM
A couple of general trading points....

I don't have a problem with the issue of asking for name, address and phone number (landline) at all. In fact if I were buying something from a stranger over the internet I wouldn't be sending ANYONE money until I had those details. And if I were selling something and expecting a total stranger to drop money into an account or send me dollars in the form of a money order I'd be perfectly happy to give them my contact details etc. It's not an unreasonable request at all.

I also couldn't care less HOW a buyer paid me. The bottom line is you simply NEVER actually send the goods until the actual money is in your hands. A cheque MAY sometimes be a risk (if it's forged) and it definitely means the whole deal is going to take a little bit longer... but here in Australia (as far as I know) once a cheque has been cleared by your bank and the funds actually put into your account the cheque can't then be bounced/cancelled later down the track leaving you out of pocket.

Having said all that though... even as a business we probably write and/or receive the grand total of 2 cheques a year. In this day and age cheques are just about dead and there are just so many easier/quicker ways to pay (or be paid by) people that you really never have to worry about cheques. So the simple solution is... ignore approaches you think are suspect and simply refuse to accept cheques if it concerns you.

maxwolfie
07-11-2008, 02:24 PM
Failing that, a bank cheque is probably a better option