PDA

View Full Version : Canfield Brothers and dodgy internet tactics


Rik
23-06-2004, 04:03 PM
I can't remember what it is called, but sites employ tactics to get search engines to rate them higher than other pages, and also for their page to appear in results for searches on similar things...

...in my internet browsings, I noticed this one:

http://www.canfieldbrothers.com

Press ctrl+a to see what they've done. Talk about nasty tactics and bad manners.

This is something Googles search algorithm attempts to avoid,but it still sucks in alot of other search engines.
Anyway, I was bored, and thought I'd point it out to the online MTB community. Personally I think it's a bit poor on the webdesigners behalf, and I hope it doesn't reflect on the companies operations in general.

danv
23-06-2004, 04:06 PM
yikes.
:shock:

That reminds me of Nigritude Ultramarine
http://www.nigritudeultramarines.com/

josh_lives_here
23-06-2004, 04:10 PM
wow! :shock: ......but that is a pretty good idea if u want people to find your site...... but yeah it shouldn't be allowed to right other brand names down :(

Wattsy
23-06-2004, 04:14 PM
now thats stuffed, like pushing into a line.

johnny
23-06-2004, 04:19 PM
Wow, sneaky stuff!

What actually is the ctrl+a command?

Carlin
23-06-2004, 04:20 PM
As if anyone is going to be searching for Iron Horse, stumble upon the Canfeild site, and drop around 10k on a frame anyway.

Jordy
23-06-2004, 04:21 PM
Wow, sneaky stuff!

What actually is the ctrl+a command?

makes the page highlight

shauno
23-06-2004, 04:21 PM
What actually is the ctrl+a command?i think it must be the select all comand or somthing :?

Rik
23-06-2004, 04:21 PM
ctrl+a = select all
ctrl+c = copy
ctrl+x = cut
ctr+v = paste

johnny
23-06-2004, 04:32 PM
select all, ofbloodycourse :oops:

Too much study rots the brain!

n00b
23-06-2004, 05:11 PM
:roll: Come on.......

SPOON
23-06-2004, 05:17 PM
Holy Fark!
That's so sneaky and deceptive.
Still... it's quite smart and a gd tactic tho~
_________________________________
Honda and V-TEC ~ The Power of Dreams

junior
23-06-2004, 05:23 PM
ctrl+a = select all
ctrl+c = copy
ctrl+x = cut
ctr+v = paste

wow rik. your smarter than the teachers at my school.

J-ro aint gonne be happy bout this. his cannfield just arrived and BA and god dam its shmich :!:

creepyjoe
23-06-2004, 06:19 PM
J-ro aint gonne be happy bout this. his cannfield just arrived and BA and god dam its shmich :!:

Actually I doubt he would give a shit. I can picture it now "Oh No! The website of the makers of my brand new DH bike that I spent mega $$ on, are using commonly used but less than noble methods of uping their rank on search engines, I MUST DISCARD MY BIKE INTO THE RUBBISH AND NEVER RIDE IT NOW"

junior
23-06-2004, 06:21 PM
J-ro aint gonne be happy bout this. his cannfield just arrived and BA and god dam its shmich :!:

Actually I doubt he would give a shit. I can picture it now "Oh No! The website of the makers of my brand new DH bike that I spent mega $$ on, are using commonly used but less than noble methods of uping their rank on search engines, I MUST DISCARD MY BIKE INTO THE RUBBISH AND NEVER RIDE IT NOW"

hes sponsored by cannfield bros or sumthing. :roll:

j-ro
23-06-2004, 07:03 PM
I had just posted a long response defending it, but at the end of the day thats only going to affect people that are unlikely to ride a canfield.

So who gives a Fuck.

dylma
23-06-2004, 07:05 PM
ctrl + a means hihglight all, it works in everything, but there isnt much of a problem having uncovered words on your website, or is there?

Squidly Didly
23-06-2004, 07:06 PM
Northshore trails DH bicycle turner intense Santa Cruz karpiel Foes Ventana Balfa Cortina Norco chumba wumba bmw brooklyn machine works hood Clif Cat Orange Cannondale Specialized Trek Giant Mountain Cycle Astix Banshee Nicolai B1 Keewee Rocky mountain iron horse evil 24 khs Avalanche Manitou cheeta cove dnm endless yeti tomac titus rotec dainese race face Marzocchi
Very clever idea in a way, but that bit is just BS...
They make some of the nicest and fastest bikes around (albeit hard to build)
Just a tad! (insert sarcasm) :P

bazza
23-06-2004, 08:53 PM
hahahahhaah good on them. if it had of been someone like norco it would of been a different story but if it works than i cant see why not :lol:

S.
23-06-2004, 09:10 PM
I had just posted a long response defending it, but at the end of the day thats only going to affect people that are unlikely to ride a canfield.

So who gives a Fuck.

Defending it? Why? Clearly the text is simply there in an underhand attempt to bring search engine users to their site even if they're looking for something else. Hardly illegal, but still pretty lame.

FuTAnT
23-06-2004, 09:21 PM
I can't remember what it is called, but sites employ tactics to get search engines to rate them higher than other pages, and also for their page to appear in results for searches on similar things...

...in my internet browsings, I noticed this one:

http://www.canfieldbrothers.com

Press ctrl+a to see what they've done. Talk about nasty tactics and bad manners.

This is something Googles search algorithm attempts to avoid,but it still sucks in alot of other search engines.
Anyway, I was bored, and though I'd point it out to the online MTB community. Personally I think it's a bit poor on the webdesigners behalf, and I hope it doesn't reflect on the companies operations in general.

Doesn't mean much these days. You have to pay for the big search engines to recognise you. It's called meta tags. It's when the search engine searches the text in the page for the criteria you've entered.

It does still work if you get free listings with lesser known search engines, as it eventually filters up, however, I'd seriously doubt it would work and get them a number 1 listing.

This method was primarly exploited by the porn sites etc. They would put all sorts of meta tags in the first part of their page to get as many suckers on the site to get hits, and therefore site sponsorship.

danv
23-06-2004, 09:31 PM
I can't remember what it is called.
I think that it is creatively called 'internet search optimization'

tmx
24-06-2004, 09:04 PM
reeks of desperation. product not speak for itself??

rhyno
24-06-2004, 09:28 PM
is this only wrong because of the fact that they are using other bike brands in there hidden text or because they are hiding text full stop? I was going to place text like that on the index page of my website because my site doesn't register very well on search engines. how else are you supposed to get Se's to find you?

tmx
24-06-2004, 10:23 PM
is this only wrong because of the fact that they are using other bike brands in there hidden text or because they are hiding text full stop? I was going to place text like that on the index page of my website because my site doesn't register very well on search engines. how else are you supposed to get Se's to find you?

IMO it's the fact of the other bike brands, some of which they have referred to as "friends".

Dane
25-06-2004, 12:31 AM
how else are you supposed to get Se's to find you?

just saw the SI webby... looking good :wink:
a little while ago there was a thread on google bombing or something. basically there was a thing you could do and eventually your site would come up at the top when google searched.

as for the hidden text thingy... i can understant why people would do it, but at the same time, it is indeed a dodgy and kind of deceptive move.

steamfrog
25-06-2004, 08:00 AM
KEywords done work with google.. google rates from links and backlinks thats why its so hard to fool. Back in the old days thats how you got rated (canfield site) but no more..

Google bombing is this.. if everyone on farkin owned a site or had access to web forums and what they call blogs you can do this.
when reffering to farkin you put the word www.farkin.net as a link.
google sees these as links to farkin and rates the page as such..

The other way which we found was this.
www.farkin.net#-bikes-downhill-riding (see how when u click on the link it goes to farkin but retains those keywords) you then make heaps of these and submit to google.. and whamo.. rated.. thats google bombing..

there is another one they call justice bombing.. ie.. osama# - asshole - wanker.. when user search for asshole.. osama shows up.. kinda classic i rekon.

Canfield site is farkin crap anyway.