View Full Version : another scam on carsales.com.au ?
Sethius
26-03-2007, 05:24 PM
basically think of a 2003 landcruiser 100 series, normally $25,000+ saw one for $7,500 and thought it was a mistake n alil sus, i got this reply:
Hello there and thanks for your interest.
The car is in excellent condition as you can see from the pictures.
No scratches or any kind of damage and it has a clear title.
If you are interested in buy it, the price is AU $7,500.
The car will be shipped from Miami, Florida (USA) on my expense and will be delivered directly to your door in
12-14 days. I will pay the shipping fees. The car will be insured at the shipping company for the transport.
All documents, including owner's manual, clear title and a bill of sale on your name will be provided along with the
car.
The car is still Australia registered so you will not have to pay any custom taxes.
Also about payment and shipping i will use ONLY carsales.com.au.
You will have 15 days from the time you receive the car to inspect it and decide if you want to keep it or not.
If you are interested in buying it please provide me your full name and address so I can initiate the deal through
carsales.com.au.
I'm a serious seller and a fair trader and I prefer to deal only with a serious buyer.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Thanksc
Sounds awfully like a scam to me, your thoughts?
PANIK
26-03-2007, 05:29 PM
Came across heaps of these when I was looking for boats and jet skis.. Never on an internet site as credible as carsales.com.au but I didn't trust it, nor would I if I were you.
Unless you have a bullshit size bank account and can afford to lose AU$7,500 the go ahead and drop it like it's hot!
shiznik
26-03-2007, 05:38 PM
yeah, stay away from it.
I know thee are heaps of ebay bike/car scams.
Ask the machine how it would like to be payed.
Ill bet it will be western union, its not safe, you cant trace them when your item doesnt arrive.
Renegade
26-03-2007, 06:06 PM
If you can pay with direct bank deposit or money cheque.. take the risk because if it doesent arrive you always have the receipts from the deposit or cheque to faal back on.. going through the hassle of tracing them up IF it doesen't arrive is your choice..
Why is the car registered in AUS when it is located in America
Why would the seller pay for postage themselves when overseas is damn expensive
and
Carsales normally have reasonably average prices.. eg nothing THAT cheap thats its a damned frikin bargain.. considering that.. I think it is suss.
exvitermini
26-03-2007, 06:26 PM
think about it this way..
he would probley be looking around that price to have the car shipped back to aus,that means he would basically be giving you a free car......
i call scam!
pistonbroke
26-03-2007, 06:28 PM
Seems to be gone.Link?
pistonbroke
26-03-2007, 06:29 PM
think about it this way..
he would probley be looking around that price to have the car shipped back to aus,that means he would basically be giving you a free car......
i call scam!
X2
He will ask for a deposit of maybe $2000.Does this a few times,in a few countrys and you've covered a years sallery.
Tristan23
26-03-2007, 06:29 PM
Yeah, he sounds pretty damn keen to get rid of it. I'd say for the cost of postage, plus the money he's not making (i wouldn't say losing though) on the car it seems quite ludicrous.
I'd say stay away. Hey. Bay. Say. May. Day.
Renegade
26-03-2007, 07:42 PM
Yeah, he sounds pretty damn keen to get rid of it. I'd say for the cost of postage, plus the money he's not making (i wouldn't say losing though) on the car it seems quite ludicrous.
I'd say stay away. Hey. Bay. Say. May. Day.
Do we have a new generation Beastie boys. Nice rapping:o :p
Yes, definitely seems like a scam to me. Just from reading that reply from your inquiry. Seems very automated and just not believable. Why would this person take an Aussie car to america, pay huge shipping fees and then try and sell it back to Australia and be willing to pay shipping, and get it delivered to your door. Sounds like a whole lot of BS to me. Obviously no site is scam proof, so just use common sense. Think of what you would do and what you'd expect others to do if you were selling a car. Plus, I would never buy a car from overseas, let alone a second-hand one you have never seen and with a deal that sounds very very dodgy.
exvitermini
26-03-2007, 07:51 PM
Yes, definitely seems like a scam to me. Just from reading that reply from your inquiry. Seems very automated and just not believable. Why would this person take an Aussie car to america, pay huge shipping fees and then try and sell it back to Australia and be willing to pay shipping, and get it delivered to your door. Sounds like a whole lot of BS to me. Obviously no site is scam proof, so just use common sense. Think of what you would do and what you'd expect others to do if you were selling a car. Plus, I would never buy a car from overseas, let alone a second-hand one you have never seen and with a deal that sounds very very dodgy.
drugs?:confused:
drugs?:confused:
What are you saying mate? That I'm on drugs or are you saying something else? I was just adding my opinion to the conversation, making a worthwhile contribution to the thread. Just like you yourself did a few posts ago.
donthucktoflat
27-03-2007, 06:08 PM
can i get the link or the dude's email address? i smell some scambaiting:D :cool:
Sethius
27-03-2007, 06:11 PM
can i get the link or the dude's email address? i smell some scambaiting:D :cool:
yea if you you want to have a play ill see if ive still got it :p
EDIT: Scott Lenfestey <scott.lens@yahoo.com> there ya go
donthucktoflat
27-03-2007, 06:15 PM
yea if you you want to have a play ill see if ive still got it :p
EDIT: Scott Lenfestey <scott.lens@yahoo.com> there ya go
cheers, i'll let ya know how it goes or if it fizzles
AngoXC
27-03-2007, 06:21 PM
basically think of a 2003 landcruiser 100 series, normally $25,000+ saw one for $7,500 ?
$25,000+ would get you a fair good condition 80 Series mate...think bigger for a 100. And yes, that sounds sus and a half...probably not even worth worrying over (as long as you dont buy it) but its good to get the word our there that buying and selling over the internet is not as fool-proof as one would think.
Renegade
27-03-2007, 07:41 PM
$25,000+ would get you a fair good condition 80 Series mate...think bigger for a 100. And yes, that sounds sus and a half...probably not even worth worrying over (as long as you dont buy it) but its good to get the word our there that buying and selling over the internet is not as fool-proof as one would think.
Yes.. Perhaps you should inquire for the wanna-be con-artist to send the car first.. then for you have one of those famous ''7 day testdrive'' experiences like on offer for hyundai.. and if you like it.. you'll deposit 'teh all teh 7500's of moni3szzzz$$'' into his account.
Hey if hes as dumb as we think he is.. it could work LOL
exvitermini
27-03-2007, 07:57 PM
What are you saying mate? That I'm on drugs or are you saying something else? I was just adding my opinion to the conversation, making a worthwhile contribution to the thread. Just like you yourself did a few posts ago.
haha sorry, i was meaning to say drugs importation could be a reason to have a car shipped back to Australia.
example:
a group hide a decent amount of drugs in a car.
then sell the car to someone in another country and soon after the car is delivered to the unknowing owner, they steal the car back and remove drugs for sale.
i doubt this it .. but i am sure its happend before
v1llage1d1ot
27-03-2007, 08:17 PM
Surely it takes more than 15 days to sail / drive a boat from the US to Australia.
haha sorry, i was meaning to say drugs importation could be a reason to have a car shipped back to Australia.
example:
a group hide a decent amount of drugs in a car.
then sell the car to someone in another country and soon after the car is delivered to the unknowing owner, they steal the car back and remove drugs for sale.
i doubt this it .. but i am sure its happend before
Haha, no worries mate. I thought you were implying that from my post you gathered I was on drugs or something. Thanks for clearing that up. :D
pistonbroke
27-03-2007, 10:01 PM
A customer of my work brought a 1956 cadilac from the us.He had never seen the car and had only seen 2 photos of it.He sent something $70,000 and 2 months later he got his caddy.It is awsome.
I would never have the guts to do it.
Bit differant to this scam though.
I live by a simple rule for shit like this "if it sounds too good to be true,it is."
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.